Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Mikoto (Mikorin) Mikoshiba (The 12 Days of Anime: Day 3)

December 16, 2014

12daysofchristmasI appear to have lost all concept of time lately as I seem to be living in a time zone all of my own at the moment.  Regardless, on this third day of anime remembrance have some adorable Mikorin from Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun!

Gekkan.Shoujo.Nozaki-kun.600.1748984Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun was a surprise hit with me.  I went into the show fully expecting to enjoy a couple of episodes before getting bored of the repetitive humour and bailing.  Such was not to be the case as it easily became one of my favourite shows of the past year, mostly due to it’s wonderful cast of characters.  Just like with Haikyuu!! it was hard to pick just a single character from Nozaki-kun, but I ended up picking Mikorin just because I find him utterly adorable.

Unknown to the fella himself, Mikorin is the base for Nozaki’s shoujo heroine, Mamiko.  Mikorin tries to talk the talk of a princely bishie (complete with sparkles and spontaneous blooms of flowers) but is also super aware of how embarrassing those speeches are and reacts accordingly.  It is ridiculously adorable to watch him blush and hide – so much moe!  I also massively enjoy how much of an otaku Mikorin is, being an avid collector of bishoujo figures and games.  It is so at odds with how he wants to portray himself as an aloof ikemen, as is his talent for drawing flowery backgrounds for Nozaki’s shoujo manga.

One of Mikorin’s finest moments is in episode 7 where he winds up being drafted into modelling for the art club – those poses were just wonderful, as was his practice attempts copying the poses of his own figure collection.  Comedy gold.Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun - 07

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2014 2:15 am

    Nozaki-kun was definitely a surprise hit for me as well. I was expecting mostly slapstick humour and pointless fanservice, so I was so happy that I found the show to be genuinely entertaining. While Mikorin probably isn’t my favourite character, there really wasn’t a main cast member that I ended up disliking – in their own way, I think they were all pretty awesome.

    • December 17, 2014 12:44 am

      As a whole the cast of Nozaki-kun is wonderful and a shippers dream!

  2. December 16, 2014 2:46 am

    Mikorin is best waifu. He really was a joy in that show and seriously outshined everyone, honestly. Don’t get me wrong! Everyone’s great in their own right but him in particular just… I just couldn’t help but fall for him right away!

Leave a Reply

