Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Hidenori Goto (The 12 Days of Anime: Day 10)

December 23, 2014

12daysofchristmasNow onto a character from one of the more divisive shows of the year – Hidenori Goto from Samurai Flamenco.

Gotou.Hidenori.600.1661232I swang back and forth on whether I liked Samurai Flamenco or not when it was airing, before eventually settling on thinking it was inspired when it ended.  The series completely lost me in the middle of its run, causing me to drop my episodic blogging of the show, but it won me back over.  The episode that marked my return to the SamFlam bandwagon was episode 17 as it took back all the characters and stationary themed weaponry I loved from the early episodes…..and had Goto get in on the action as “Samurai Policeman”.

Goto is easily my favourite character in Samurai Flamenco – the ever grounded police officer was a bastion of common sense for the majority of the show, serving as a foil for the wacky antics of Masayoshi and the other wannabe heroes.  Goto & Masayoshi’s unlikely friendship was adorable as the two sat about eating curry and watching hero shows  It is a friendship that was borne out of loneliness for them both (although we only realise Goto’s tragic issues in the final arc of the show), and the way the show ends up with Masayoshi effectively proposing to Goto (in the nude) was just perfection to me.  Honestly I don’t think I’d have liked Samurai Flamenco quite so much if Goto wasn’t in it.

samflam e17

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 24, 2014 9:56 am

    Oh goto-san! ANother surprise there! I was so surprised and I really wanna knock goto-san there. Sometimes I wish he is more into the story,

Leave a Reply

