Skip to content

First Impressions: Spring 2015 – Part 3

April 9, 2015

springsmlRight-oh, part three of the first impression spam – I knew there were a lot of shows this season, but this is getting ridiculous!

Another pretty mixed bag is up next; Blood Blockade Battlefront, Sound! Euphonium, Kyoukai no Rinne, Gintama S3, Triage X, Ore Monogatari! and Houkago no Pleiades.

Blood Blockade Battlefront (Kekkai Sensen)

In a word Blood Blockage Battlefront is “Stylish”.  I really enjoyed this first episode as it has lots of things I generally really love – like slick action sequences, super cool characters and ridiculous super powers.  I’m also pretty impressed by the setting – really does look like New York if it suddenly became overrun with monsters.

I don’t actually have much to say about the show – it’s pretty straightforward and is mostly concerned with being as stylish as possible, which is something I’m more than happy to run with.  Definitely keeping on.

Sound! Euphonium

I have to admit that the spectre of the horrific experience that was K-ON! means I was more than slightly apprehensive about this latest KyoAni offering based on cute girls & music club.  But Sound! Euphonium wasn’t actually terrible – kind of shocked.  The show even got the instruments right and when the main girl was cringing about the school concert band being ‘terrible’, they actually were playing pretty badly!  I shouldn’t really be surprised by the attention to detail, KyoAni are pretty renowned for it.

Despite my not actually liking any of the characters (apart from the club president, she was fun) I’m going to give this show another few episodes.  It’s probably due to the weird nostalgia I have for brass instruments (I played tenor horn – sort of a smaller euphonium – in a few bands & orchestras as a youngster) more than anything else.  At least until I remember why I quit (the sore lips, the stench of valve oil and the ickiness of cleaning out the spit slides…..ewwwww).  Somehow I doubt Sound! Euphonium will feature much of this.

Kyoukai no Rinne

Well this was much duller than I was initially expecting – not really much to get me interested.  The characters where okay, I liked the girls completely deadpan acceptance of everything and the fellas penny-pinching schemes, but everything else was pretty meh.  It doesn’t even look all that good, the budget is clearly rather small so the animation is all quite flat and rather static.  This isn’t to say there is anything really wrong with Kyoukai no Rinne, there just isn’t really anything to actively praise either – it is the epitome of average.

Unfortunately I don’t really have time for this at the moment so its dropped.

Gintama S3

Only Gintama can get away with this kind of opening episode.  Starting with a piss-take of some Japanese politicians press conference and then deciding to have an episode about time-travel and giant boogers – it is fecking brilliant to have Gintoki & co back!

There was never any question that I was going to keep this on, but I’m still delighted that it hasn’t lost any of it’s unique charm between seasons.

Triage X

I think I would have liked this a lot more if it wasn’t for the godawful, deformed boobs all the women have.  Honestly, what on earth are those weird misshapen things and how on earth do the women move with them attached to their chests!?  I think I spent more time staring in utter confusion and horror at the girls boobs than I did reading the subtitles to try to understand what the plot might be about.  All I really got was some vague impression of some medical terminology, violence, motorbikes, a white-out shower scene, high-school for some reason and a dude with a “troubled past” with a load of scars……..and possibly his best friends limbs?

Triage X is a strange show where it seems to want to tell a serious story about vigilante justice as well as show off as much cheesecake shots of the buxom female cast as humanly possible. The overall effect is somewhat bewildering.  I’m not going to watch any more since the character designs are so hideous, but it wasn’t offensively terrible for a fanservice show.

Ore Monogatari! (My Love Story!)

Well here’s our Shoujo by numbers show – and I actually enjoyed this first episode quite a bit.  Our hulking main character is fecking adorable and I really enjoyed his interactions with his bishie best friend (who is obviously Taichi from Chihayafuru).  The girl I could take or leave, but she didn’t really have much to do in this episode apart from provide sweets and cause spontaneous showers of flowers & glitter.  And boy is there sure a lot of shoujo sparkles, bubbles and flowers in this show – I felt like the glitter was going to come pouring out of the screen at any moment.

So yeah, this was a fun first episode – I really like the main character, giggled a few times and generally felt quite upbeat by the end of the episode.  However I am slightly concerned by the fact this has already been slotted in for 24 episodes – I’m not really convinced I can take that many episodes of standard shoujo misunderstandings and will-they-won’t-they faffing about.  I will at least be keeping Ore Monogatari on until I reach shoujo critical mass though.

Houkago no Pleiades

Well this first episode was basically the OVA all over again – and it wasn’t any more memorable the second time round.  The only thing I can really say about Houkago no Pleiades is that the animation is nice, the costumes are cute and I really enjoy how the magic sticks sound like cars revving.  Not really an astounding litany of positivity.  The entire thing puts me in mind of Yuki Yuna no Yuusha, but without the hook of magical girl suffering.

Houkago no Pleiades is all sunshine and cuteness – nothing horrible is going to happen to these girls, so if you’re in the mood for some super cute mahou shoujo anime, knock yourself out.  I, unsurprisingly, will not be watching more.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Well that’s 21 shows down and I have another five to look at already.  So far can’t say I’m massively impressed by Springs offerings unfortunately.  But I suppose we can’t really be too greedy after that glorious Autumn & Winter.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2015 12:17 am

    Kekkai Sensen was pure style, and Gintama is a franchise I really need to sit down and marathon one day, as it does sound fun. The other five were a bit lacklustre, though I am continuing with Ore Monogatari!! and Hibike! Euphonium, for a change of pace from all the action/fantasy series in my lineup if nothing else.

    • April 10, 2015 12:19 am

      *also played the cornet when in primary school, incidentally*

    • April 10, 2015 12:33 pm

      Gintama is awesome – most consistently hilarious anime I’ve watched. Highly recommended!

      This season hasn’t really produced anything new that I’m super hyped for yet – which is a bit concerning.

  2. April 10, 2015 12:30 am

    I never played a band instrument (eventually picked up a guitar), but the first episode of Euphonium was alright. Probably keep it on my watch list for now.

    • April 10, 2015 12:35 pm

      I tried my hand at guitar for a year or two, but didn’t like cutting my nails so gave it up (which is also the reason I never lasted too long with any string instrument). I tended pick up woodwind & brass instead……..of course now I can’t even read sheet music let alone play.

      • April 11, 2015 6:33 pm

        😄
        I had the same problem. I was learning classical guitar and then realized I would have to spend at least part of every day filing my nails, and my instructor was telling me how he kept press-on nails handy incase he broke a nail on performance day, and just bailed. It is fun playing with a pick, though.

Leave a Reply

