Skip to content

First Impressions: Summer 2015 – Part 3

July 8, 2015

summerbanPart three of my first impressions then, and this batch seems to be all the highbrow entertainment you could possibly want this season.

  • Chaos Dragon
  • Jitsu wa Watashi wa
  • Aquarion Logos
  • Castle Town Dandelion
  • Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou
  • Overlord
  • Bikini Warriors
  • Sore ga Seiyuu!
  • Million Doll

Chaos Dragon - 01Chaos Dragon

Wow. I don’t really know what I was expecting, but I certainly wasn’t ready for this deluge of incoherent exposition – even the eye-catch contained so much exposition it was impossible to read it all without pausing the video!  It’s not like the setting is so amazingly original that the audience needs time to get used to the way things work, this is a pretty standard fantasy set-up that doesn’t really throw out anything we haven’t seen before.  I was actually pretty disappointed that there didn’t seem to be a truly unique hook in this first episode – guess I was expecting something more from a collection of such talented writers.  Instead Chaos Dragon feels like a pretty good example of the idiom “too many cooks spoil the broth”.

I can’t even profess to being all that enamoured of the look of the show – I had already expected the rather unexciting character designs, but there is a rough, patchy feel to the animation that I don’t think I can entirely blame on poor encoding on the file I got.  Saying all that I am giving Chaos Dragon a second episode – still curious about how bad it could get.

 

Jitsu wa Watashi wa - 01Jitsu wa Watashi wa (My Monster Secret)

I was expecting this to be much worse that it actually ended up being.  Rather than the ecchi comedy I was bracing myself for, Jitsu wa Watashi wa is actually pretty cute and endearing, mainly due to how pure-hearted and honest the main characters are.  It still doesn’t really do anything different from other shows with a similar premise, but it is pretty watchable.

The only thing I really don’t like about the show is the character designs – they’re really pretty rough and kinda ugly, although that kind of works to make the show a bit more endearing in a weird way.  Regardless, even if this isn’t a terrible show I’m still not interested in continuing with it – dropped.

 

 Aquarion Logos - 01Aquarion Logos

Well this ended up being even dumber than I was bracing myself for.  Weirdly the file I got stuck the Aquarion EVOL special on the front, so Logos looked even worse in comparison…..sort of counter productive really.  Logos is a completely stand-alone series, you don’t need to have seen either previous incarnations of the Aquarion franchise – it’s set in a near future world with a completely new set of (really dumb) rules for its action.  In Logos the antagonist has the power to corrupt kanji and make its meaning run amok….which could have been an interesting exploration of the power of words & language, but just looks really stupid when put on the screen since no real thought appears to have been put into the presentation.

Not even the quirky cast interests me since they are fecking irritating as hell and I’ve only watched a single episode! Our gifted MC-kun wanders about in a daze proclaiming himself a Saviour and manages to pilot the Aquarion without any previous training…..which is hardly unusual for the mecha genre, but feels especially dumb & lazy here.  Logos feels like it wants to be as fun and silly as EVOL was, but completely misses the mark and ends up being dumb and annoying instead.

I hadn’t been keen on the new character designs from the promo materials, but I really don’t like how this first episode looked at all.  EVOL had the advantage of looking damn good as well as having an entertaining script – Logos doesn’t really have any of the same quality in its first episode.  I had a feeling EVOL was a bit of a special case, so I won’t be watching any more of Logos – think I’ll just rewatch the better instalment in the franchise.

 

Castle Town Dandelion - 01Castle Town Dandelion (Joukamachi no Dandelion)

Well this was an entertaining enough episode – seems like the kind of show you can just put on when you don’t want anything too taxing.  Premise is quirky enough to keep things interesting given there are nine siblings all with unique powers.  There’s a fun, upbeat vibe to the show and the characters are entertaining.  It looks decent enough too.  I don’t really have anything so say about the show, its completely harmless and I may go back to it eventually.  Dropped for the time being though.

 

Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou - 01Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou (Everyday Life with Monster Girls)

Well.  This went pretty much exactly as I had been expecting.  This entire episode was about how the snake girl desperately attempted to fuck the gormless MC while the government official cock-blocks.  I imagine that once the harem grows each episode will follow a similar format.  I do have to admire how the show wholeheartedly embraces what it is about and doesn’t really pretend to be anything other than an ecchi show about monster girls.  I’m certainly no going to be watching any more of this, but can’t really hate it for being exactly what it says it is.

 

 OverLord - 01Overlord

Now this was a pretty interesting episode.  It approaches the whole “trapped in a video game” scenario from a slightly different angle since we don’t actually see our main character’s life offline, and he doesn’t seem to have any attachment to his real world life.  Momonga’s the only one left in a world that all the other players have long since moved on from, and his monologue’s perfectly capture that feeling of melancholy you get when an online community breaks up. It’s understandable that real life causes people to drift apart over the years, but it is still a bit upsetting.  I liked how after Momonga’s initial moment of panic in finding himself stuck in this familiar, but different world, he settles himself rather quickly and sets about testing what he can do and forging new relationships with the NPC characters that have become fully sentient.  I’m interested to see what he will decide to do with his new life.

On the production side everything is decent enough – not particularly blown away by the animation or direction, but it’s all fine.  Satoshi Hino’s voice acting as Momonga steals the show though, as his melancholic inner monologue and polite conversational tone with the other guild member who briefly stops by, contrasts with the deeper, more commanding tone employed when he’s playing the expected Lord Momonga role for his NPC subjects.  Overlord is off to a decent start, I’m definitely interested in watching a few more episodes to see where it goes.

 

Bikini Warriors - 01Bikini Warriors

You can tell this only exists to sell bishoujo figurines.  Basically it is just an excuse to show off tits & ass in teeny tiny bikinis – the show is what it is.  Dropped.

 

Sore ga Seiyuu! - 01Sore ga Seiyuu! (Seiyuu’s Life)

This is clearly hanging onto Shirobako’s coat-tails for dear life – pity it is no where near as good.  Where Shirobako looked at the complete picture as regards anime production, Sore ga Seiyuu narrows the focus to only look at what the voice actors go through.  It is interesting enough, but I think it may have been better suited to being in a short format – the episode just went on way too long and got boring.  This episode was very heavy on the explanations (complete with the use of a mascot character similar to Shirobako) and the main characters are pretty boring since they are the quintessential ‘cute girls, doing cute things’ archetypes.  I’m not sure if I’m going to keep this on, but will check out another episode at least.

 

Million Doll - 01Million Doll

I suppose if you are interested in Idol otaku there may be some value to be gleaned from watching Million Doll, but since I have zero interest in idols this short just bored me……..and the CGI dancing in the OP scared the shite out of me.  Dropped.

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2015 7:53 am

    Chaos Dragon: LOLOLOL What did I even watch? I was so confused and those character designs were p bad looking…this will probably be the first thing I drop this season, but I might give it two more episodes just in case.

    Jitsu wa Watashi wa: Cute indeed! Probably the only other “romance” Series this season even though I think the true romance is Akagami no Shirayuki-hime.

    Aquarion Logos: That was fun for me, but I agree kinda more on the dumb side especially when the new MC is a complete noob and simply walks in and saves the day? What? Ah well I will keep watching to see if it gets any better.

    Castle Town Dandelion: I forgot about the powers being a thing in that and it might be a series that suffers from too many characters…

    Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou: Yep this series is probably for the ToLoveRu crowd or the ecchi fans since every time Miia is trying to get into the MCs pants by force even though they have been told every time no? That gimmick will probably get old especially with five different monster girls joining the harem.

    • July 10, 2015 12:48 pm

      I gave the 2nd episode of Chaos Dragon a go last night……and promptly dropped it. It’s just a mess.

      If I hear more positive things about Logos further down the line I may pick it back up, but this first episode was just bad so I’m doubtful it will improve.

      I doubt anyone who picks up MonMusume will be watching it for the plot.

  2. Day permalink
    July 9, 2015 10:38 am

    I hated Aquarion Logos so, so much. What a terrible bore that opening episode was! The characters are sooo dull; they clearly wanted the lead to come off as cheesey with his whole “I’m the savior.” and reaching for the sun routine, but it was so lifeless in execution. Meanwhile the female lead only brings to mind sheep – the fluffy hair, the shy demeanor, the brainless facial expression… bleargh.

    • July 10, 2015 12:50 pm

      Logos was such a disappointment – I wasn’t all that optimistic about it, but it was still pretty shocking how crap the opening episode was. Just no flare to the presentation at all and the characters were utterly flat. Meh.

  3. July 9, 2015 3:42 pm

    EVOL : Aquarion franchise :: Steins;Gate : Semicolon franchise

    #TruthfulAnimeAnalogies

    • July 10, 2015 12:51 pm

      Probably agree – Steins;Gate is the only semicolon series I liked and it looks like EVOL will be the only Aquarion series I’ll be interested in.

  4. Rocco B permalink
    July 9, 2015 4:05 pm

    No kidding about Bikini warriors. I don’t even…never mind. Chaos dragon was..well pretty convoluted in its exposition. It had so much things going on, it made it hard to follow what was going on.

    • July 9, 2015 6:07 pm

      It also didn’t help that Chaos Dragon’s action is garbage. I couldn’t see what was going on for a good chunk of it.

      • Rocco B permalink
        July 10, 2015 5:06 pm

        I have to agree on that. The action sucked.

    • July 10, 2015 12:52 pm

      Kind of amazed that Chaos Dragon got the action so horribly wrong in addition to the story-telling. Kind of takes a certain amount of skill to mess up on both fronts!

  5. July 11, 2015 9:51 pm

    Finally got a chance to watch the first episode of Overlord. This is definitely one of those shows where it is tough to say where they will take it from just one episode. Hopefully, now that we have had our initial “this is how the world works”, and a brief introduction to the main characters, we will be given some insight into what they want to do plot-wise.

    • July 11, 2015 11:09 pm

      I really did like Overlord’s first episode, but I’m also holding off proper judgement until I see where the story is going to go. I’m hoping it continues to have a lot of character introspection though.

  6. July 12, 2015 3:20 pm

    Monster Musume is the show I need right now after watching so much intensity I can finally relax.. kind of.

Leave a Reply

