Skip to content

First Impressions: Summer 2015 – Part 4

July 11, 2015

summerbanOkay then last big batch of first impressions then (about time too since second episodes for the some of the earlier shows are already out).  There are three more shows to air that I want to sample, so I’ll fire them into another post.

Nothing in this batch that I’m overly hyped for – which is just as well given the massive amount of shows I’ve decided to give a second look!  Anyway here’s:

  • Sky Wizard’s Academy
  • Himouto! Umaru-chan
  • Gakkou Gurashi!
  • Junjou Romantica S3
  • Danchigai
  • Prison School

Kuusen Madoushi - 01Kuusen Madoushi Kouhousei no Kyoukan (Sky Wizard’s Academy)

This show contains an instance of a toast-in-mouth collision played completely straight – I honestly haven’t seen that done in ages!  Kuusen Madoushi’s first episode was like watching pure, distilled LN trash – it honestly plays out something like a checklist.  First we get an introduction to the super-special setting (cool looking aerial city populated by wizards at war with evil beetles – yes really) and get a glimpse of how stupidly over-powered, cool and super capable our harem lead is.  Then we get a chance to have MC-kun run into his three haremettes in unfortunate circumstances, (the toast-in-mouth collision with a textbook tsundere being one of those) just so they can all squawk ‘Pervert!’ at him.  All this only to find that, surprise, surprise, they’re the incompetent team he’s meant to train.

I was sitting watching this episode in awe, just because of how by-the-numbers it is – the characterisation is so hilarious that it’s hard to believe this show wants to be taken seriously!  MC-kun wanders about cool as a cucumber, handily ignoring all the randomers bad-mouthing him as a ‘traitor’ (what this means we’re not actually told), giving zero shits about anything, which oddly makes him pretty likeable.  Tsundere-chan is so tsundere she could be the picture beside the definition in a dictionary and shy girl is shy and boring.  I kind of liked self-obsessed, chuunibyou ojou-san because she was a bit different though.

Honestly I was kind of tempted to keep this on for shits and giggles because it is so dumb, but my plate is a bit too full already so it’s dropped.

[HorribleSubs] Himouto! Umaru-chan - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_02.42_[2015.07.09_23.52.11]Himouto! Umaru-chan

I was okay with this show until I realised it wasn’t a short and it just kept going, pretty much exhausting it’s repertoire of jokes in its first episode – not a good start.  The concept has been done before – girl who appears perfect in public but is really an otaku slob in private, and Himouto takes the duality of Umaru’s personality to extremes which is pretty amusing.  However there is no escaping the fact that this concept managed to get old in a single episode, I have no idea how they’re planning to keep this going for another 11 episodes!  I certainly have no interest in watching the teenaged Umaru throw childish tantrums at her put-upon older brother – this was more than enough for me.  Dropped.

 Gakkou Gurashi! - 01Gakkou Gurashi! (School-Live!)

I already knew the twist at the end was coming from reading the synopsis pre-season, but it was still a massive slog to get through this first episode to reach that ‘oh shit’ moment at the end.  The majority of this episode plays out like the most bog-standard of cute girls school based comedy rubbish, with only a few hints that there is something more going on peppered into the background.

I have really low tolerance levels for cute girls crap so I really did struggle to make it through to the end of the episode.  As a result I kind of feel that the twist at the end wasn’t really enough to justify putting me through 20mins of cute pink genki torture!  I will give the second episode a look though, but if it shows signs of reverting to the idyllic school life nonsense that made up most of the first episode, I’ll be dropping it immediately.

 Junjou Romantica 3 - 01Junjou Romantica S3

Third season of Junjou Romantica and absolutely nothing has changed since season one……..urgh.  Okay so the animation quality has improved a bit, but that doesn’t really make the character designs look any less ugly, and there is a new character introduced to force a love triangle…..blah.  Watching this episode just made me want to go read some legitimately good BL manga that will unfortunately never receive an anime adaptation – what did we do to deserve three seasons of Junjou!?

Of course I’ll continue to watch the rest of the season if only to whine incessantly about it – have to take whatever scraps the BL gods throw my way~!

Danchigai - 01Danchigai

High school boy and his harem of various sister characters…….thank god this was short and I could forget about it immediately.

Prison School - 01 Prison School (Kangoku Gakuen)

I was very interested in sampling Prison School because the manga seems to have a lot of pretty vocal fans.  I’ve been told it is a bit of a love it or hate it kind of series, so I wanted to see for myself…..and I can’t say I’m entirely sure what I think of this première episode.  I definitely don’t love it, but I’m not repelled by it either – I could take it or leave it really.  Which of course means I need to watch another episode to really form an opinion either way!

The set up has plenty of scope for humour and the over-exaggerated art style and acting does a good job of grabbing your attention.  However the way everything was so overblown kind of started to annoy me rather quickly.  The seiyuu are all excellent, but they’re constantly yelling all their lines, which grates on the ears after a while.  Also, while the artsyle works well and I liked the expressive facial contortions, I can’t say I’m a massive fan of some of the more overblown character designs. That one guy with the tiny face and the girl with the gigantic breasts, just look weird compared to the rest of the cast.

So I’m a bit ambivalent about Prison School at the moment, but I am definitely interested in watching another episode.  This first one was more about establishing the setting than anything else after all.  I’ll decide whether or not this is my kind of show once I’ve seen a bit more – it’s definitely a series you need to watch for yourself to make any decisions about.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2015 6:59 pm

    My roommate and I tried to watch Kuusen to see whether it was going to be terribad, just the regular unenjoyable bad, or what, but….like a third of the way in we both realized how generic and bland it was and barely made it through the episode.
    Like, is it TRYING to be a complete flatline viewing-wise?

    • July 11, 2015 11:07 pm

      I don’t really know what Kuusen Madoushi was going for – it was just a strange lump of tropes. Maybe if it had more self awareness and went for a more camp feel it would be more fun, playing every thing straight when it is so painfully generic seems like an odd choice to me. Maybe if you’d never seen any other anime you may get some mileage out of this?

      • July 12, 2015 9:04 am

        Yeah, I could see that. Or maybe they’re intentionally making it generic at first and maybe intend to subvert it a few episodes in? (That’s giving too much credit, imo, so most likely it’ll just boil down to ‘technically sound in production but emotionally empty’)

  2. July 12, 2015 2:50 am

    Oh, I feel you on the JR S3 front. I hate JR, but it’s the only BL we got this season, so have to take it. Why do the BL god’s torment us so?! Maybe one day we’ll get actual good BL adapted though.

    • July 12, 2015 8:23 pm

      Yes we have to take whatever we can get since BL anime pickings are so very slim. Won’t stop me from complaining about how terrible Junjou Romantica is though!

  3. klark permalink
    July 12, 2015 5:02 pm

    Speaking of good BL manga, have you read Seven Days? That was the first and the best that I have read in that genre (I only read 20 or so so.. I don’t have that much repertoire). I got Kimi Ni Todoke levels of cuteness there. No semes. No ukes. No ugly character designs. Just bishounens and fluff.

    • July 12, 2015 8:25 pm

      Seven Days is excellent – I believe there is a live action version of it coming out too. I love Takarai Rihito’s art – so pretty!

      • klark permalink
        July 13, 2015 8:42 am

        Oh God. I am so happy that I am not the only one who loves Seven Days. I just can’t stop myself from having this idiotic grin by the time I finished reading it…

        …Only to be disillusioned by the BL stories I read later (which screamed generic seme-uke thing). That is for another conversation, I guess.

  4. July 13, 2015 6:35 am

    As a manga fan I loved that first episode of Gakkou Gurashi! Yeah the moe stuff gets in the way for most who hate that type of anime, but that is kind of the point to show you how screwed up Yuki’s world view is and how she deals with it! I think its really unique to take a risk with that setup much like the first episode of Kotora-san if you are familiar with that rather dark first episode.

    Kuusen Madoushi Kouhousei no Kyoukan : AWESOMELY AWFUL wtf was that even….

    • July 13, 2015 12:04 pm

      Still makes this first episode relentlessly dull to get through. If I didn’t already know that there was a twist to the story I probably wouldn’t have sat through the entire episode. I’ll be checking out a second episode, but if there is too much of Pinky’s fantasy land I’ll probably drop it.

  5. Day permalink
    July 13, 2015 10:30 am

    I’ll be relying on you to know which episodes I can skip of JR3; I like the dorky rocket guy’s storyline, so I just want to see that piece of it.

    • July 13, 2015 12:06 pm

      I’ll keep you posted – no doubt the series will be 75% crappy couples as usual though.

Leave a Reply

