Skip to content

Characters that made my year – Kakeru Tengenji (12 Days of Anime: Day 9)

December 22, 2015

12daysofchristmas

Right, back to characters that I actually liked again – Kakeru Tengenji from Starmyu – High School Star Musical!

Tengenji

Aaah Starmyu~! I have said it repeatedly and will say it again – I never dreamed that this show would turn out to be so good! I picked it up hoping it would provide some light trashy entertainment each week, and it definitely delivered on that, but I didn’t expect to become so emotionally invested in the show! My trashy entertainment show shouldn’t be making me tear up – I did not sign up for the feels train. Saying that the endearing nature of Starmyu is now one of the things I enjoy most about the show – you really want the boys to succeed and achieve their dreams of musical stardom. It is a sign of a quality show when it can give you massive chunks of mature cheddar cheese and yet still deliver on quiet character moments. I loved this show!

Of course the main reason for my loving Starmyu so much was the characters, and one in particular emerged as my favourite quite early on – the adorably dorky tsundere Tengenji. Tengenji was your typical stand-offish, snobby rich brat in episode one, but did the quickest 180° I’ve seen in anime, to a cat loving dork whose closeted upbringing leaves him slightly out of touch with the real world. It has been a joy to watch Tengenji’s interactions with the rest of the group change over the course of the series – he’s now the type of person who smiles often and doesn’t hesitate to go out of his way for his friends; a far cry from the angry, isolated boy in episode one. I would love another season of Starmyu!

Tengenji2

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2015 3:34 am

    I know the best boy in Starmyu would be here and there he is. This is what happens when all character stereotypes were given to a bishie. What a delight to see Tengenji’s reaction (and reaction faces).

    Oh and Starmyu is the drama of the season. Darn it.

    • December 23, 2015 2:47 pm

      Starmyu is a gift I wasn’t expecting! Tengenji best girl!

Leave a Reply

