Skip to content

First Impressions: Spring 2016 – Part 4

April 10, 2016

springsml

Okay next batch – I swear to god I will be caught up before the end of the day!

  • Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja nai to Omotta
  • Anne Happy
  • Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress
  • Concrete Revolutio S2
  • Shounen Maid
  • Sakamoto desu ga?
  • Haifuri

 

[HorribleSubs] Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.51_[2016.04.08_22.53.57]

Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja nai to Omotta (And you thought there is never a girl online?)

I think the only really positive thing I can think to say about this, is that it wasn’t as awful as it could have been.  After that I really don’t have much to say.  It’s still the usual otaku self-fulfilment rubbish, but it does have a smidgen of a sense of humour and mostly manages not to be offensively terrible.  It’s still not worth my time watching more of, but I imagine there are plenty of people out there who enjoyed it.

 

[HorribleSubs] Anne Happy - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_05.33_[2016.04.08_19.31.51]

Anne Happy

So apparently it’s Anne Happynot Unhappy like I thought in the preview, because it is a pun on the main character’s name…..so clever.  Yeah I didn’t actually retain much of this episode – think I had it on in the background while I was reading something else.  Basically this is a class of girls with bad luck – which is now a measurable character trait apparently – and their aim is to improve their luck before graduation.  Snore.  Dropped.

 

[HorribleSubs] Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress - 01v2 [720p].mkv_snapshot_18.22_[2016.04.08_22.27.29]

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

Are you one of the many people who watched & enjoyed Attack on Titan?  Well good news!  Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress is basically that all over again, this time in a Japanese setting with added trains & steampunk tech – rejoice!!

In all seriousness I really did enjoy this opening episode of Kabaneri, but there is no getting away from how similar it is to AoT – right down to the music and sepia filters.  It’s still made for a really cool show to watch though – I really like the designs and I’ve always been a fan of Araki’s directorial style.  I’m certainly keeping Kabaneri on, but do hope it displays a bit more individuality in future episodes.

 

[HorribleSubs] Concrete Revolutio - 14 [720p].mkv_snapshot_22.37_[2016.04.08_20.14.08]

Concrete Revolutio S2

It’s back & it’s as good as ever~!  Extremely pleased of have ConRevo back on my screen – it was probably the show I was most hyped for this season.  Thankfully the quality hasn’t declined (although I do miss the OP & ED songs, but the cool group shots in the ED somewhat make up for it), and the show looks set to continue building on the lattice of plot threads laid in S1.

Fantastic to have more ConRevo to look forward to – this really is one of the finest shows to have aired in recent years.

 

[HorribleSubs] Shounen Maid - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.13_[2016.04.09_23.20.20]

Shounen Maid

Okay so this wasn’t as creepy as I feared it would be, but that doesn’t mean it was good.  I mean it was serviceable, but there isn’t really anything that stood out as being great or particularly interesting.  We’ve seen this pairing of a grounded, dependable child who’s good at domestic work with their childish, slovenly guardian many times before in animanga – it’s usually good for a few laughs, but gets old quickly unless the writing is particularly good.  Shounen Maid is just middle of the road average in all respects – I will give it a second episode, but think this is destined for the dropped pile.

 

[HorribleSubs] Sakamoto desu ga - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_01.55_[2016.04.09_22.00.44]

Sakamoto desu ga?

Okay.  I laughed a lot at this episode.  Everything is so ridiculously overblown and stupid – from the music & the direction to the voice acting – that I couldn’t help myself – also that great OP!  The entire premise hinges on the idea that Sakamoto is the most effortlessly cool individual to have ever drawn breath, something that enthrals and irritates his classmates in equal measures, and it does work, or at least it does in this episode.  I’m not entirely sure if the simplistic concept can really sustain the show for and entire season, but I’m definitely willing to give Sakamoto desu ga? a fair whirl.

 

[HorribleSubs] Haifuri - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_07.06_[2016.04.09_20.15.18]

Haifuri

I sort of thought this would be some cute, whimsy thing about girls roaming the seas rescuing dolphins or some similar kind of saccharine conservation message, but nope.  Haifuri is another cute girls + military show with our cast of typical female high school archetypes manning a fully armed destroyer.  I don’t know why I thought ‘protecting the seas’ meant rescue operations instead of military manoeuvrers, but there you go.

Anyway, Haifuri is clearly trying to evoke a similar feeling to Girls und Panzer, but it mostly fails to capture the charm of that show.  I mean this wasn’t a completely awful episode, but it is sort of empty feeling – none of the cast seems particularly memorable and there isn’t really a clear feeling of what Haifuri wants to be.  I personally won’t be sticking around to see if it does exhibit any character in the future though – dropped.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2016 5:19 pm

    I interpreted the ‘protecting the sea’ in Haifuri as having an environmental message as well, so you’re not alone! I’m sticking with the show for now, because I want to know what this whole mutiny set up is all about!

    Netoge no Yome, Anne Happy and Shounen Maid made my list, though they’re nearer the bottom. They made me laugh, which is all I can ask from a comedy, but Sakamoto desu ga? was in a completely different league.

    Kabaneri is my #1 Spring show based purely on first episodes, but your high praise for Concrete Revolutio makes me feel like I’m missing out on something… does it change/improve much beyond the 5/6 episode mark where I originally dropped it, or am I best off assuming it’s just not my kind of series if I wasn’t already hooked by that point?

    • April 12, 2016 8:31 pm

      I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who expected Haifuri to be cute girls doing cute things at sea, rather than cute girls perform military manoeuvrers! I think Girls Und Panzer is destined to be the only show of this ilk that I’ll ever truly like.

      Sakamoto desu ga? has my comedy slot filled – love me some absurdist comedy~!

      ConRevo is brilliant – I honestly can’t praise it enough – the AU history puts a really interesting spin on real world historical events. Absolutely nothing about the show is throwaway, everything has some sort of impact further down the line and the out of order story-telling makes putting the pieces together really satisfying. I actually got even more out of the show upon a rewatch – the benefit of hindsight for a lot of plot points gave amazing clarity. Plus it just looks awesome with that super stylised aesthetic and has some really layered characters – I really do love it!

  2. April 11, 2016 5:12 am

    Thankfully, the first episode of ConRevo is much easier to digest this time now that we solved Jiro’s reason for leaving the Bureau. In my (biased) opinion, it has the best opening episode this season. That is, if you ignore My Hero Aca or Kiznaiver or that uber-cute Flying Witch.

    • April 12, 2016 8:32 pm

      My Hero Academy got me right in the feels – Midoriya is criminally cute – but yeah I think on the whole I was most excited about ConRevo being back.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.