Skip to content

Summer 2012: First Impressions (Oda Nobuna no Yabou & Joshiraku)

July 12, 2012

Almost done with these first impressions – still haven’t a notion what I want to blog, but that’s what 2nd episodes are for!  Anyway let’s have a look at the latest genderbent Sengoku general & bunch of talkative girls………..Oda Nobuna no Yabou and Joshiraku.

Oda Nobuna no Yabou (Oda Nabuno’s Ambition)

Out of all the shows I’ve tried this season, this by far was the toughest to finish the first episode of.  An endless parade of boring/irritating characters and tired clichés, this latest incarnation of genderbent Sengoku generals does not have a single original or interesting idea to its name.  What particularly turned me off is how seriously they take the history element, but still layer on the stupid bishoujo character designs and idiotic harem hijinks jokes – the two elements just do not gel and it left me wondering just what the hell this show is trying to do.

It’s particularly galling when you look at how excellent the production is on the series – what on earth are Madhouse thinking?  The animation is great and even if the character designs are horribly overdone, they’re well drawn and nicely animated.  The music is also fantastic – why have they got Takanashi Yasuharu working on this drivel!??

Argh – so very dropped!

Joshiraku

I didn’t really enjoy Joshiraku.  I felt like a lot of the humour was lost in translation (although [gg] really put in a valiant effort to try to localise some of the puns), and the whole concept of girls sitting round talking just isn’t my thing to start with.  Some of the gags were pretty funny though and I did laugh a few times, but just too much of the episode washed over me and left me cold.  The breaking of the fourth wall and the meta jokes at the start were fun, but it went on a bit too long and started getting obnoxious quite quickly.  I can’t profess to really like the characters either as they’re pretty much standard bishoujo stereotypes.

On the production front, well it wasn’t as bad as I was fearing, but there was still a lack of any real creative flair to make the talking heads format look a bit more visually interesting.  Effort was expended on the OP & ED though (even if I didn’t like either of them).  The voice acting was okay – no one really stood out though.

So yeah, I’m dropping this – a gag show where half the gags are lost in translation isn’t worth the time.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. windyturnip permalink
    July 12, 2012 6:59 pm

    You’ve confirmed my worst fears about Joshiraku. I shouldn’t have expected the humor to translate well, but I still had a little bit of hope. I’ll give it a go anyway, but if what you say is true, I’ll probably end up dropping it in the end.

    As for Oda Nobuna no Yabou, the male lead is brutally obnoxious. If it weren’t for him spouting either historical nonsense or perverted crap, the show might actually be watchable. Unfortunately, the comedy was virtually nonexistent, and the romance will probably be as generic and shallow as it comes. It really is to bad considering how much effort was put into the production.

    • July 13, 2012 9:43 pm

      Because Joshiraku is comedy, you’ll have to give it a whirl to see if it appeals to you – it just didn’t grab me at all.

      Male lead in Nobuna needs to die a painful death, he was easily the worst thing about the show! Series is an utter waste of budget.

  2. A Day Without Me permalink
    July 13, 2012 6:37 am

    SHIT Takanashi’s doing the soundtrack for Nobuna? WHY????

    • July 13, 2012 9:45 pm

      My reaction exactly.

      Was sitting watching the episode going “this music is actually pretty good” and went and looked up who was responsible……….such a complete waste of talent =__=

      • A Day Without Me permalink
        July 13, 2012 10:20 pm

        Well hot damn… guess I’ll check out the OST.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.