Skip to content

Samurai Flamenco – 11

December 27, 2013

[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_17.14_[2013.12.26_16.08.59]I don’t know what I’m watching any more.

No seriously.  I’ve put off writing this episode not only because I’ve been busy, but because I don’t really know what to think about Samurai Flamenco anymore – it changes its identity like I change my nail varnish!

[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.50_[2013.12.26_16.06.04]I laughed throughout the run of the episode and since I take scribbled notes as I watch, this is what I ended up with…..which isn’t entirely helpful when trying to write a post a week later….when a touch tipsy…..generally this wasn’t a great idea.

[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_15.07_[2013.12.26_16.07.52]I don’t know what I think of this latest mood swing – I’ve said repeatedly that I don’t really like Super Sentai shows and now Samurai Flamenco has gone full on Power Rangers!  I’m still waiting for the other shoe to drop, for everything to be some sort of elaborate set up, for things to actually make sense to me again!  I can’t really properly enjoy the show at the moment the way I used to because I feel disconnected from the characters – they aren’t the same people I really feel in love with in the first seven episodes.

[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_19.52_[2013.12.26_16.10.33]And now we have all these new characters, which makes me fear that Goto, Stationery Guy and the Flamenco Girls are going to be majorly sidelined – and that makes me sad.  I really do hope that Samuari Flamenco has some sort of interesting twist up its sleeve, because if it is just going to be a straight sentai show from now on I don’t think I’ll be interested in continuing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2013 1:28 pm

    My thoughts exactly. They better bring back the old samurai or I am not watching anymore…

    • December 28, 2013 11:46 am

      I’ll probably continue watching, but all incentive to blog it will evaporate

      • December 28, 2013 12:47 pm

        I can’t even imagine u bloging superhero show. Lols

        • December 29, 2013 12:54 am

          Yeah – since my attempt at writing about this episode didn’t go too well, it is safe to say I wouldn’t be much good at it.

  2. December 27, 2013 7:15 pm

    I’m still holding strong to that feeling as well (the other shoe, I mean). I want so badly for it all to be leading to something that I’m not entirely sure what I’ll do if it DOESN’T. The episodes have been individually fun and even intriguing (Moe’s torture scene brought Baccano flashbacks in a great way), but I’m just not sure what to make of it anymore. It’s been YEARS since I’ve been so weirded out and honestly surprised by an episode of anime (perhaps just because I don’t watch sentai). That’s something to keep me interested for the moment, but I’ll want something more in the long haul lest I wind up rather bitter about the whole process.

    • December 28, 2013 11:50 am

      There have been so many sudden shifts, that I am almost certain we still haven’t gotten the full picture – but just what they decide the full picture is I’m not sure.

      I like how SamFlam can keep me guessing – not many shows can do that these days, but I’m not a fan of Sentai so it is a struggle to stay interested right now as I miss the more intimate setting of the early episodes. Haven’t lost faith yet, will see what the next few episodes bring.

  3. TheVoid permalink
    January 7, 2014 3:02 am

    I’d imagine Goto will still be around. He’ll probably be the mandatory sixth ranger.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.