Skip to content

Five places I’d like to visit

July 20, 2010

Seems my dreams are a good source of inspiration.  This post was the result of a long convoluted dream that I only remember snippets of – twas definitely anime themed and I seemed to travel through a number of different locations. Which got me thinking when I woke up – what anime worlds would I most like to visit?

There are some fabulous worlds in the anime-verse, but not all of them are places I’d particularly like to visit.  The world of Last Exile for example – gorgeous place, but I wouldn’t fancy landing into the middle of a war! 😆  I didn’t put all that much thought into this and I’m pretty sure I’ll suddenly think of another 10 worlds I’d like to visit, but here’s the first five that popped into my head today.

1.  Yuuko’s Shop – xxxHOLiC


I’m nothing if not predictable!  Yeah, I have a slight fascination with Yuuko Ichihara and with xxxHOLiC in general.  A lot of my anime related dreams either start, end or pass through Yuuko’s shop – only fitting since Yuuko is a Space Time Witch (strange how my otherwise weird dreams have that little bit of logic), so when I thought of anime locations I’d like to visit Yuuko’s shop was first thing to come to mind.

The shop itself is beautiful – that traditional building and pretty garden surrounded by skyscrapers on three sides is immediately recognisable, yet it can only be found by those with a genuine need for the shop.  I wouldn’t fancy messing with the laws of hitsuzen, but I’d still like to explore that shop (and Yuuko’s fabulous wardrobe) and meet the characters that live there.

Another reason I’d like to visit Yuuko’s shop is that it’s a window into the CLAMP-verse.  I’m a great admirer of CLAMP and would love to wander about some of their featured locations.  Since there is quite a lot of crossovers in xxxHOLiC it would be possible to take Yuuko’s shop as a starting point and pass into the worlds of Legal Drug, Angelic Layer, Cardcaptor Sakura, Kobato, Chobits, Tokyo Babylon and Tsubasa Reservior Chronicle!  Perhaps I’d even be able to take home a magical CLAMP wardrobe filled with cute clothes (a girl can dream!)

2. Konoha – Naruto

This was another easy choice for me.  Of the traditional shounen series I follow, Konoha seems like the location I’d most like to visit.  The world of One Piece is just too vast to only visit (I’d need to move there!), Soul Society  in Bleach has too much blank space and seems dull and D.Gray-Man just seems utterly terrifying!  Konoha on the other hand, seems like a place you could drop into and experience for a while before going home – the place tends to pop up in my dreams quite a lot.

I’ve always liked the world design in Naruto.  Its got just enough mod-cons to seem familiar, but at the same time is utterly alien – its full of fecking ninja’s for gods sake!  Konoha seems like a pretty nice town too, I’d like to get a better look at the Hokage mountain, the giant walls/gates, grab some Ichiraku ramen to see what the big deal is….and you, just see a whole heap of ninja’s going about their daily business!

As I’ve mentioned before, Naruto is one of the shows that got me back into anime after my wilderness years at Uni so I have large amounts of nostalgia for the show.  But it’s not just nostalgia that makes me like the world so much – I genuinely think it’s a very nicely developed world setting and its one of the reasons I even bothered with Naruto in the first place!

3. Gekko-go – Eureka Seven

There is no other reason for this being here other than the fact that I completely fell in love with the world of Eureka Seven – what other reason do I need really!?  The series just appealed to that little piece of me that has always wanted to soar through the clouds.  The terrestrial world is pretty desolate for the most part, but the skies are glorious!

Just to experience the skies of that world would be amazing, but getting to meet the members of Gekkostate onboard the Gekko-go would be the icing.  The characters of Eureka Seven are among my favourites – it’s a great ensemble cast and they’re all really interesting people in their own rights.  I’m sure the conversation would be memorable!

As a fan of mecha series its only fitting that I’d have a mecha show on this list – getting to see the Nirvash and other LFO’s up close (and maybe even get a spin in one!) would be a phenomenal experience – can you imagine surfing through the clouds!?  Amazing.

4. Kabukichou – Gintama

I really like the world of Gintama. Taking the traditional Edo setting (that I always find fascinating) and adding aliens, futuristic technology and modern sensibilities is just genius.  The setting is only limited by imagination and that’s what I like so much about it – you never know what you’ll see next in Gintama.

Wandering about Kabukichou would be great fun; dropping into Otose’s Snack House, getting a look at Mademoiselle Saigou’s okama bar (and maybe seeing Zurako), poking about in Gengai’s workshop, having a drink in the Takamagahara host bar, perhaps getting stopped by the shinsengumi for drunken behaviour before landing into Yorozuya for tea with Gin-chan, Shinpachi, Kagura and Sadaharu!  Fun times.

5.  Amestris – Fullmetal Alchemist

Who wouldn’t want to visit a country where Alchemy is commonplace?  I’ve always liked those fantasy series where alchemy is a feature, but FMA put a new and interesting spin on the traditional concept of alchemy being the domain of sinister old men locked in smelly labs.  To visit a land where alchemy can be practised by anyone with enough talent and intelligence would be really fun.

Amestris itself is an interesting country – from the rural Resembool to the sprawling miliary stronghold of Central and vast icy wasteland of Briggs via the mechanical wonderland of Rush Valley; there is so much to see in Amestris.

As a world setting I really enjoyed the detailing in FMA – the 20th century industrialised way it’s portrayed without getting grimy and polluted, the mechanical wonder of automail, the vast open spaces and the way religion takes a backseat to scientific fact and alchemy – it’s a world that has so many familiar details, yet as a whole is completely different to our own.  I’d love to be able to go there for a trip!

So there’s five places in the anime-verse I’d like to visit – what about you?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 10:02 pm

    This is a really neat idea for a post, I just wish I knew more of the worlds you mentioned (I’m only familiar with the first and last.) Though for Yuuko’s shop, I thought it stood mostly on its own and near some trees in xxxHolic. Or does it change location later on or in Tsubasa Chronicles? Your description of the Gintama world makes me want to check out that series, even if the episode count is rather daunting.

    • July 21, 2010 6:14 pm

      Yuuko’s shop has always been in amongst other buildings to my knowledge – it looks like an empty lot to anyone who doesn’t need to enter it though.

      Gintama is great fun; the setting is really quite imaginative and characters are a riot!

  2. July 20, 2010 11:09 pm

    I’d love to visit Academy City from the Raildex series. Beyond just having all those espers, it’s just a technologically marvelous city. Those wind turbines would surely make the environment quite loud, but they’re pretty to look at, at least.

    Plus, it seems like there’s wacky crime going on all the time, with middle and high school students fighting them.

    • July 21, 2010 6:15 pm

      Oh yeah! Thats a really nicely designed world; I never thought of it since I didn’t like the series set there 😛

  3. twilightshiva permalink
    July 21, 2010 12:08 am

    Awesome ideas. And I totally agree with Yuuko’s shop. The place looks gorgeous, and as you mentioned, it’s in the CLAMP-verse. What more can you ask for?
    Konoha is also a pretty cool place too but I can’t say it’s quite as high up on my list as Yuuko’s shop. I am also glad you had Amestris on the list, though I think I might even prefer the neighbouring country, Xing, even more (perhaps also because we haven’t really seen it?)
    I also think Saiunkoku (from Saiunkoku Monogatari) would be a cool place to visit. Whether it’s the beautiful water cities in Ran Province or the Emperor’s Palace in Kiyou, there’s a lot to see (and obviously, the loads and loads of bishies. lol)
    But the place that is hands down, on the top of my list would be Crystal Tokyo from Sailor Moon. Yuuko’s shop may be gorgeous but it’s got NOTHING on Crystal Tokyo. (And I’d just love to meet Neo-Queen Serenity and the Sailor Senshi. That would be too cool.)

    • July 21, 2010 6:18 pm

      The world of Saiunkoku is really pretty I completely agree (bishies are a major plus point too!)

      Never thought of Crystal Tokyo, probably because its been so many years since I’ve watched Sailor Moon.

  4. July 21, 2010 1:44 am

    I want to be part of Hueco Mundo, Soul Society and Karakura Town. But that were expected of me.

    I’m with you with Kabukichou though. The thought of meeting Gintoki on the streets makes me giddy =D

    • July 21, 2010 6:21 pm

      Would you not be put off by the vast amount of blank space and Hollows in Hueco Mundo? 😆

      Think I would completely regress into fangirl mode if I ever met Gin-san!

  5. July 21, 2010 7:56 am

    Kaleido Stage in Kaleido Star is always my default answer for this question. I’d be one broke ass bastard after visiting that circus every day.

  6. July 21, 2010 9:55 am

    Alpha’s cafe from Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou. To sit with Alpha in there, just listening to the ocean as the tea in your mug goes cold. Doing nothing but just being there with her. That’s my idea of heaven.

    • July 21, 2010 6:24 pm

      Can sort of see the appeal of the peace and quiet, but Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou nearly sent me to sleep so I personally wouldn’t go there! 😆

  7. July 21, 2010 10:20 am

    In my case, I’d visit Konoha only to pick up Ramen and play with ninja powers, especially learning Rasengan and chidori, cause all cool kiddos in Konoha can do it.

    I’d certainly skip Gintama’s world, it’s just too freaky and random. I’d rather visit Dragon Ball’s world just to play with Kamehameha or something.

    And finally, the most interesting place you’ve mentioned that I’ve always thought about visitting was.. Amestris, or even Resembool. When in the last episode Ed stood on the roof looking at the quiet, beautiful land I couldn’t resist but to imagine myself being there. And of course the alchemy, suddenly I’d love my nemesis – chemistry.

    Then I’d visit Soul Eater’s world, maybe just to meet Death The Kid but now that I think about it, the city itself was quite funny-designed. Also I’d kill Maka.

    And maybe Samurai Champloo’s world, where running around with katana was just normal. I’d certainly love it.

    Great idea for a post, now you should create ‘which 5 anime worlds I WOULDN’T like to appear in’ .. that’s what came to my mind when I thought about Berserk, ouch.

    • July 21, 2010 6:30 pm

      Haha – the reason I want to go to Gintama world is because of the randomness, it just looks so interesting!

      Soul Eater world seems a bit too mental and headache inducing – the design is pretty stylish to watch, but actually being there would be a bit much I think.

      ‘Five worlds I don’t want to visit’ sounds like a great idea!! Might stick that up next week! 😆 Thanks!

  8. Ruu permalink
    July 21, 2010 8:23 pm

    XD I’m so glad that Konoha is on the list. I would visit it before the Pein arc though.

    That is such a nice idea! I actually don’t know where I would like to go. First place that comes to my mind is Ikebukuro and those sexy vending machines :D, if I can see Shizuo lifting one of them and throwing it at Izaya I believe I would die happy. I also would like to go to Tom’s sushi bar.

    I would like to go to Motochika’s Mechanic fortress, that’s one of the sexiest settings on Sengoku Basara.

    Obviously Amestris too, I want to see how wacko the dayly life would be like.

    I would like to go to the Plotemieus as well, just to watch all those sexy gundams.

    I believe I should make a list of the most important ones. 😀

    Btw have you read naruto lately? Right now they are on an awesome mini arc.

    • July 21, 2010 9:36 pm

      I ruled out normal, realistic locations like Drr!!s Ikebukuro since you can actually go there – although the lack of Drr!! characters floating about is very disappointing 😛

      Been reading Naruto weekly – haven’t been writing about it since this arc is actually good and I lack any ammunition to take the piss out of it! May do a quick impressions post once the flashback is over though

  9. July 25, 2010 1:58 am

    5 Places I would like to visit, in no particular order.

    Cephiro — THAT’s the CLAMP place for me. I’ve been a MAGIC KNIGHT RAYEARTH fan since it first appeared in Nakayoshi. I definately want to visit that place.

    LaputaLAPUTA, CASTLE IN THE SKY. Not only do I want to visit, I might actually want to LIVE there. Of course, a lot of Miyazaki’s worlds, and interpretations of the the world we live in are ALL worth visiting.

    Lincoln Island — Heh heh. Well…just kidding about that, sorta. But to be honest, any of the places in NADIA, SECRET OF BLUE WATER would be fine with me, except, of course, for Neo Atlantis.

    Ohtori Academy — I’D show those poofters the meaning of Revolution!!

    The Magic World — I’m referring, of course, to The Magic World in HIME-CHAN NO RIBBON. I suppose this one should be somewhat obvious, since my website is http://www.themagicworld.org But ironically, I don’t have as much info up on it on my website as I should. So I would definitely need to visit there…and if could punch my Magic World counterpart in the mouth, or buy him a beer, then GO“Ike Ike Go Go JUMP!!”

    • July 25, 2010 12:57 pm

      Nicely thought out! Havent seen Nadia or Hime-chan myself yet though.

  10. July 27, 2010 8:43 am

    I am disappointed no one even mentioned Neo Venezia.

    • July 27, 2010 1:00 pm

      Ah thats a really pretty place; however I found ARIA boring so it didn’t spring to mind.

  11. July 27, 2010 2:36 pm

    I just wanted to comment your blog site and say that I genuinely enjoyed reading your website post here. It was really informative and I also digg the way you write! Continue the good work and I’ll be back to read far more soon mate

  12. August 30, 2010 10:48 am

    AHH! Excellent idea for a post! \^v^/

    Look like this is a blog I have to keep watching!

    • August 30, 2010 11:52 am

      Thanks very much! New readers and commenters are a joy! ^_^

      • August 30, 2010 12:02 pm

        A joy to YOU. To me, reading your blog is more of a joy. I had enjoyed myself a lot with your practical and frank posts.

Trackbacks

  1. Five places I wouldn’t like to visit! « Caraniel's Ramblings
  2. Flights of Fancy: Five Places in Anime I’d Love to Visit « GAR GAR Stegosaurus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.