Skip to content

Autumn 2013: First Impressions – Samurai Flamenco & Galilei Donna

October 12, 2013

autumnanimeI believe this is the final first impression post (unless Pupa actually materialises) and it’s our two noitaminA shows of the Autumn season – Samurai Flamenco and Galilei Donna.

Samurai Flamenco

This really wasn’t what I was expecting, but I still liked it.  I’m not quite sure what kind of feeling the show is going for – it’s not straight up comedy, but it certainly isn’t drama or pure social commentary either – it has quite a lot of different elements to it, and they don’t all gel together perfectly.  I’m not sure what exactly I’m meant to be feeling about our superhero wannabe – I laughed at his naivety, but I also admired his zeal and and sympathised with his dissatisfaction with reality.  He’s certainly a bit of an oddball, but there’s an endearing quality to his earnest love for superhero’s and straightforward desire to make the world a better place through tackling petty crime.  That doesn’t mean that I didn’t find his speech and subsequent pummelling by those kids somewhat uncomfortable – it went on just a tad too long.  The cop character is pretty great though – just your ordinary guy who’s slightly disillusioned with the world – he’s a nice guy who just can’t leave our superhero wannabe to his own devices, since it is so apparent he’s a bit defenceless….shipping that by the way.

The production values are okay, it’s not a visually stunning show but the direction is pretty good.  The script and acting are the major strength and draw of the series for me – loved the easy flowing dialogue and the voice acting is superb.  I’m definitely interested in seeing where Samurai Flamenco is going.

Galilei Donna

Now this was different in every way – much flashier and attention grabbing – I really enjoyed this opening episode even if I have absolutely no idea what the actual story is going to be for this series!  There is lots of things fired into the mix in this first episode – Galileo’s descendants, sky pirates, goldfish mecha – there is very little downtime but somehow it all flowed together nicely.  The three sisters have clear personalties – the eldest is an opinionated, drunken law student, the youngest has a talent for machines (the fantastic flying goldfish mecha being her handiwork) and…..well the middle sister is a bit boring at this point, not sure what her ‘quirk’ is meant to be – they should be interesting to watch in the future.

It’s also a very visually appealing show – bright colours, smooth animation and interesting designs (loved that goldfish mecha!!) – A-1 are doing nice work on this show as you would expect given their past shows.  Acting is pretty good as is the music.  I’m definitely keeping Galilei Donna on, I think it will be an interesting trip.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2013 1:59 am

    Samurai Flamenco was definitely not what I was expecting. It has a very ‘real’ feel to it. His acting out like a super hero has a very human element to it, unlike a lot of the typical anime/manga superheroes. Hopefully it can keep up that freshness for the duration.

    As for Galilei Donna, I don’t know what to expect. This episode caught be a bit off guard, but by the end, I really enjoyed it. I hope the diverse personal will be constructive to the plot, and not just a mess of infighting and petty squabbles. But that’s probably what this story is about at it’s core; three sisters coming together to combat the threat. Should be interesting!

    • October 13, 2013 12:20 pm

      Yeah I was definitely expecting Samurai Flamenco to have a more fantastical element to it – you know, like actual superpowers. But I really am interested in this much more grounded approach, but how well it will do will massively rely on the strength of the characters if they’re going to go this way.

      I really, really liked Galilei Donna even if it was nothing like I was expecting – it is more attention grabbing and has a lot going for it – just hope it can continue like this.

  2. October 14, 2013 3:21 pm

    you make me wanna watch the latter, even though I had already decided to take a break this season.. other than magi of course!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.