Skip to content

Autumn 2011: First Impressions (Working’!! S2, C³ & Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!)

October 3, 2011

More new shows – going to be a busy week~!  Next up is Working’!! S2, C³ & Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!

Working’!! S2

Pretty lacklustre start to the new season of Working really.  Pretty much all it accomplished was refreshing everyone’s memory about the characters and their main quirk, and rehashing some of the same old running jokes – absolutely nothing new to see here, it felt more like a filler episode than the start of a new season.  I hope the show gets an injection of energy soon, because if the rest of the series is as uninspired as this episode its going to be a real chore to get through!

Production quality looks to be the same as the previous season, ie: decent.  New OP isn’t as infectiously brilliant as ‘Some WAN WAN!’ but its pretty cute and in similar vein………..and I don’t actually have anything else to say about the show.

C³ (C Cube / Cube x Cursed x Curious)

My god this was dull. And annoying. And DULL!  Seriously, I struggled to make it through the episode and I usually have a fairly decent tolerance for this kind of meh magical girlfriend show.  However C3 not only inflicts a mentally retarded tsundere female lead on us, it also gives us one of the blandest male leads ever – he literally has no presence in the show beyond being ‘nice’.  Mentally retarded tsundere female lead succeeded in making me want to drop kick her off a pier (am I meant to find her cute?? Seriously!??) in record time (usually I last at least 2-3 episodes before developing that urge), and even though I watched the whole episode, I’m really not sure what the fecking point of the show is!  Urgh, getting annoyed just thinking of the wasted time I spent watching this show.

At least things are bit better on the animation front – Silver Link at least made things look interesting with their use of colour, pattern, light and camera angles.  The studio only really have BakaTest to their name, but they really deserve a better show to work on .  I don’t like the character designs at all though – too much weird hair/eyes and miniscule belt-like skirts (so many bloody pantyshots!).  Voice acting was also very meh, and in the case of Fear, really fecking irritating – ED was generic (and suggests that there will be a third girl in the harem).  Basically I wasn’t impressed by anything but the animation – definitely not watching any more of this rubbish.

Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!

Well this didn’t turn out quite like I expected…….rather I really enjoyed this first episode, it was really entertaining!  I was braced for utterly generic harem antics with a slight Ikkitousen slant, but instead got something closer to BakaTest mixed with Sengoku Basara!  The whole episode was a mental sengoku style inter-class battle with mad explosive fighting styles, transforming robots, spear-wielding maids & helicopter commentary from the school principal (because this is a PE class!) – it made absolutely no sense, but damn was it fun!  I’m also pretty relieved that the main male lead doesn’t seem to be the type to faff about – he’s already confessed to his love interest twice (and been gently rejected both times) but doesn’t seem too deterred or interested in pursuing a harem.  Also there are other fellas in the show – with a decent amount of lines and personality; such a rarity in shows of this ilk!

Animation is nothing to write home about – it does the job, but is nothing amazing.  The voice acting is great though, sounds like the seiyuu had fun with the show & there is an impressive cast on board, plenty of recognisable voices.  No OP or ED this week & the BGM does the job without being amazingly good/bad.

Basically I was pleasantly surprised by this first episode – I’ll give the show another two episodes to see if it can keep the fun factor going.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 7:17 am

    Working’!! was brilliant! I love it! But then again I’m biased. As for C3, I dropped it after 5 minutes. It was shit. And just like you, I ended up enjoying Majikoi. It just full of random shit that I forgot how crappy it was.

    • October 4, 2011 1:18 pm

      I’m still worried about this new season of Working! – the new writer & director aren’t instilling much confidence in me, and this episode was rather uninspired. Hopefully it will pick up steam – 1st ep of the original series was pretty crap too!

      C3 was rubbish – really only good thing about it was Silver Link’s animation (even then the character designs sucked).

      Majikoi is the first surprise of the season – I was fully expecting to hate it, but ended up getting swept up in the fun. Not sure if it can keep that energy up though.

  2. October 4, 2011 9:07 am

    Working!! I only got to see the preview, is this the same thing or not really? xD Anyway I am sooooo happy that series is back for more episodes I remember watching this around the same time Durarara!! Was running ❤ Plus similar voice actors as well. Can't wait for more Yamada! She always made me laugh.

    C3- More like Portal the anime! Fear's cube form reminded me sooo much of that game, character designs were meh very lame T___T Then again I wasn't expecting much from that.

    Majikoi- Awesome first episode! I was waiting for it to fall apart, but so much action for a first episode! So fingers crossed for it not becoming another IS! Lots of girls and fighting maybe it will be better.

    • October 4, 2011 1:22 pm

      Its the same as the pre-air, just without the watermarks & with the OP added in. And yeah, I agree Working! is basically Shizuo, Izaya & Shinra working in a family restaurant – great cast!

      Having never played Portal I’ll take your work for it XD

      At least there are more fella’s in Majikoi than I was expecting – IS only had Bland Male Lead & a bunch of haremettes. With a more balanced cast hopefully Majikoi will avoid some of the dull harem escapades IS indulged in.

  3. October 4, 2011 4:15 pm

    If I didn’t watch the first season of Working!!, I would’ve dropped Working’!! right at the first episode. It’s a good thing the first season was great. I’m just keeping fingers crossed for the second season to be even better. :p

    • October 4, 2011 6:49 pm

      I actually did drop the first season of Working! as I thought the 1st ep was dreadful, only to pick it up again a few weeks later & love it. Perhaps the pattern will repeat this season?

  4. October 5, 2011 5:28 am

    C3 was the second most boring show of the season that I’ve seen so far, Majikoi was actually pretty fun, and Working is… Working. All my enthusiasm for that series petered out in the last four episodes of the first season. Nothing much else to say, really.

    • October 5, 2011 9:05 pm

      You haven’t seen dull till you’ve seen Kimi to Boku & Tamayura…….holy god.

      • October 10, 2011 12:28 am

        I just did this past week. While I didn’t mind Tamayura so much, Kimi to Boku was boring as all hell.

Trackbacks

  1. Notes For The Fall 2011 Anime Season Final « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses
  2. Anime Review: Working! Season 2 Episode 1 | This Euphoria!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.