Skip to content

Autumn 2013: First Impressions – Kyousogiga (TV) & Kill La Kill

October 3, 2013

autumnanimeMoving swiftly on it is time to have a look at two of the more striking looking series airing this season – Kyousogiga (TV) and Kill La Kill.

Kyousogiga (TV)

Well this episode was basically a recap of the OVAs – so if you hadn’t seen those before; welcome to the madness of Kyousogiga!  Since I had seen the OVAs before this episode didn’t contain anything new for me, but I have to say that even after watching it twice it still makes absolutely no sense!  Kyousogiga is bonkers.  Absolutely madcap with not a shred of sense fired in to grab onto – and I really enjoyed that aspect of it.

There is something immensely fun about being chucked into a swirling mass of brightly coloured explosions and just allowing it whirl round you – that’s the only way I can really describe watching Kyousogiga!  All I can say is that I really enjoyed the mentalness and the vibrant energy the show has and I can’t wait for it to start in earnest next week.

Kill La Kill

Well Kill la Kill ended up being everything I was expecting from Trigger & a bit more!  This has to be the most anime thing I’ve seen in a while – it just embraces all the cartoony insanity anime can encompass and serves it up in a fantastically dynamic animated package…..I kind of loved it.  I had tried my best not to get overly hyped about Trigger’s first full TV series, but they’ve pretty much delivered exactly what I was hoping – a OTT grandiose school setting and hyper stylised violent action set pieces with a side of fanservice.  If you’ve seen any of Imaishi’s previous shows you’ll know what to expect from Kill la Kill, as it has that same high octane energy.  Also if you’ve seen any Go Nagai you’ll probably get a familiar vibe from Kill la Kill – it’s got that same mix of mental violence and strange fanservice…..except much better than anything Go Nagai has managed to date.

The idea of super powered school uniforms is fecking hilarious, but it works here because the whole show is just pumped up to 11 on the ridiculous scale anyway, so firing in super uniforms is just icing.  I’m sure most of you already know about by adoration of ridiculous, OTT shows with super stylish animation, so I’m sure absolutely no one is surprised by how much a fecking loved Kill la Kill.  I hope the show stays this bloody good for the rest of the season!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2013 12:18 am

    except much better than anything Go Nagai has managed to date.

    You haven’t seen Shin Mazinger Z I take it?

    • someguy permalink
      October 4, 2013 2:27 am

      That’s Imagawa adaptation of Nagai’s Mazinger. It’s not exactly made by Go Nagai.

      I am a Nagai fan, but even I hate to admit that his fanservices are usually crap, especially in stories that meant to be serious (frickin Devil-Lady!!).

      • October 4, 2013 2:30 pm

        I’m aware it’s a Go Nagai remake, but it definitely has his style. And I’m not a fan of the pre–00s Nagai stuff either. Kekko Kamen was cool, but Violence Jack was just horrible.

        00s wise, I love the remakes attached to his name. In addition to Shin Mazinger Z, Re:Cutie Honey is great and Dororon Meeramera Enma-kun is hilarious (after the first two episodes).

    • October 4, 2013 7:37 pm

      Suppose I should admit to my rather limited exposure to Go Nagai at this stage – ie: mostly Terribad stuff

  2. October 4, 2013 4:38 am

    Likewise, I absolutely adored Kill la Kill. Had it been less cartoonish in style it probably would have come across as slightly pathetic in a trying-too-hard kind of way, but as it stands, it’s one of the coolest opening episodes I’ve seen in a very, very long time. Awesome stuff!

    • October 4, 2013 7:38 pm

      Yes the artstyle really works for the OTT violence & humour – definitely looking forward to watching this every week.

  3. October 6, 2013 1:49 pm

    Loving Kill la Kill. It’s everything I loved about Imaishi work. The art style, the characters, everything. Hopefully Trigger can keep the show rolling along at this level.

    • October 6, 2013 3:00 pm

      Everything was working together extremely well in the first episode of Kill la Kill – hopefully it can keep up that same level of insanity/fun.

  4. October 8, 2013 10:12 pm

    Kill la Kill had the best first episode of the season so far by a long shot, in my opinion. Completely OTT, and awesome. 😀 No matter how crazy the plot though, at least I could follow and understand what was happening… can’t say the same for the first episode of Kyousougiga, but that had enough style and energy to deserve a chance, so I picked up both. 😛

  5. November 6, 2013 1:02 pm

    “t’s got that same mix of mental violence and strange fanservice…..except much better than anything Go Nagai has managed to date.”

    I really take offense to that, consider that I’m a big Nagai fan. And all Gainax has done is rip off his style in the past.

    Kill La Kill isn’t Harenchi Gakuen or Gakuen Taikutsu Otoko. I assume you watched the VJ ovas, but know this, they were directed by horrible people, like Itano, who’s completely shit at directing. Go read one of Nagai’s actual manga like Devilman, rather watching the shitty adaptations.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.