Skip to content

Autumn 2013: First Impressions – Gingitsune & Phi Brain S3

October 7, 2013

autumnanimeOkay then onto Natsume wannabe & puzzling awesomeness – Gingitsune & Phi Brain S3.

Gingitsune

Gingitsune wants to be Natsume Yuujinchou and it just fails to reach that level.  The show is nice enough I suppose in the classic youngster sees youkai that no one else can see kind of way, but I found it hopelessly boring the majority of the time.  There just isn’t anything to really set Gingitsune apart from other shows of its ilk, and I just couldn’t get invested in it.  The kitsune – Gintaro – is kinda fun, he’s this big, gruff centuries old creature who suddenly has to deal with a stroppy teenage girl, but he is just as prone to fits of moodiness as she is – got some amusement out of that, but that’s about as far as my interest went.  Ginitsune isn’t bad, it’s just unremarkable and I have very little patience for the unremarkable these days.

Production is middle of the road too – all pretty solid looking (although I can’t say I’m fond of the character designs), but there is no flair to the direction or anything that really makes the series stand out.  Overall Gingitsune is just ‘meh’ – passable and I suppose it could be somewhat endearing if I gave it a few more episodes, but I’m just not interested enough to do so.  Dropped.

Phi Brain S3

Ah here we go – now this got my attention right from the get-go!  I love Phi Brain, it is a ridiculous show (god I love ridiculous shows!) stuffed full of BL shipping opportunities and laughably grandiose puzzle solving antics topped off with fantastically stupid names with a star-studded cast…..I just love the show to bits.  This season looks set to focus on Kaito & Rook’s mentor Jin, who has been sidelined quite a lot in previous seasons despite being pretty interesting.  We also get a new antagonist in the shape of a pink haired girl – *GASP*  an actual woman who can solve puzzles!???  this goes against everything that Phi Brain has taught us over two seasons – women in this show are physically incapable of doing puzzles!  Anyway we also get two other characters with awesome names Mr Enigma & Mr Whodoneit……I am being completely serious.  Have I mentioned how much I love this show??

Yes so, production looks to have been stepped up again – or at least this first episode looked pretty awesome.  The OP continues Phi Brain’s run of really good and well animated OPs, but that ED…….oh god I nearly died laughing.  A really upbeat seiyuu number with the cheesiest pictures ever – genius!  So yes, I’m going to be one of the elite few who will be watching a third season of Phi Brain – I feel sorry for those of you that are missing out on the fun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2013 11:56 pm

    Gingitsune just doesn’t have the sort of gravitas I want from a show of this genre. The designs a re all too childish, which makes the show come off as a comedy … Without really being funny.

    Shows like Mushishi or Yuujinchou can pull it off because the artwork really seems to suggest the show is worth paying attention to.

    • October 8, 2013 6:35 pm

      This is it exactly! The blobby character designs really work against the atmosphere it desperately wants to create.

  2. October 8, 2013 5:49 pm

    I’m with you in thinking that Gingitsune was ‘meh’, inoffensive and boring. The return of Phi Brain, on the other hand, is always welcome. 😀 (I lost the plot when Whodoneit’s name was mentioned – the character names from earlier series were funny, but his is on a whole new level). 😛

    • October 8, 2013 6:36 pm

      Whodoneit is a fantastic name – surprised it’s taken them three seasons to pull that one out!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.