Skip to content

First Impressions: Autumn 2015 – Part 3

October 5, 2015

autumnanimeSome pretty interesting shows in this next batch, but I don’t really have a lot to say about them.  I’m also slipping into old habits of keeping everything on again……I need restraint!

Next up is:

  • Comet Lucifer
  • Concrete Revolutio
  • Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan
  • Komori-san Can’t Refuse!
  • One-Punch Man
  • Lupin III (2015)

Comet Lucifer - 01Comet Lucifer

I’m not completely sold on Comet Lucifer.  There is some good stuff in here (like the mech action at the end), but there is also a lot of very standard stuff that I’ve seen a hundred times before (basically everything else).  It is fun though, and there is plenty of effort put into the action to make it interesting to watch, but there is no getting away from the fact this is another magical girlfriend show.  I do appreciate the effort being put in and it has been a while since I’ve watched a straight up magical girlfriend show…….and that mecha action was good.  I guess I’m giving this another episode or two – sort of need to see how magical crystal loli turns out before I make any real judgements, if she’s annoying this will be an easy drop.

 

Concrete Revolutio - 01 Concrete Revolutio

This was really all over the place, but I can forgive it that because Concrete Revolutio just had a lot of energy, and all the colours really appealed to me!  Still, this opening episode suffered a lot from random time skips and just having way too much going on at once.  It sort of felt like when the team was brainstorming this series every idea they came up with was worked into the final piece somehow.  There is just elements of everything fired into the mix, and it sort of works in a weird hyperactive kind of way.  Even the ED is a trip – completely psychedelic and really damn cool looking!  Basically at the moment Concrete Revolutio is a whole lot of style and not much substance – my interest is definitely piqued, but an actual storyline would be nice in the next few episodes.  On probation.

 

Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan - 01Onsen Yousei Hakone-chan

Well that’s 3.5 minutes of my life I’m never getting back.  Self important loli-god plays match-maker for generic anime characters.  There is a fall onto boobs scene.  So dropped.

 

Komori-san wa Kotowarenai! - 01Komori-san Can’t Refuse! (Komori-san wa Kotowarenai!)

Giant girl with massive boobs gets asked for favours incessantly, including people asking to cut in line at the bathroom so much that she nearly wets herself.  That’s it.  Well at least it’s only 2 minutes long…….dropped.

 

One-Punch Man - 01One-Punch Man

Ah now this is more like it – what a stellar opening episode!  From the JAM-Project OP (which was pure perfection) through to the oddly chilled ED, One-Punch Man had my undivided attention.  It’s a pretty simple shounen comedy series, but it is the presentation what really makes the show interesting to watch. The animation is glorious – beautifully drawn and choreographed fight scenes, and excellent faces for Saitama throughout.  It remains to be seen how they’re going to keep things interesting over the run of the show since this opening episode basically sums up the whole gimmick (Saitama’s disillusionment with how easy it is for him to win ludicrous fights in one punch), but I have faith that all the wacky characters in the OP can keep things fresh.  But yeah, I really loved this episode a lot – simple, well produced shounen fun.  What wasn’t to like!?

I laughed and I cheered – basically this is all kinds of my sort of show and I’m definitely watching more.  Glad I waited for the anime adaptation rather than picking up the manga like I had been tempted to do so often in the past.

 

Lupin III (2015) - 01 Lupin III (2015)

Finally got round to checking out the new Lupin show, and it sure is cool.  I really like the animation style the new Lupin stuff uses, it’s detailed but still cartoonish enough to make the master thief hi-jinks work.  Loved the OP & ED – super slick and really fun.  The new character is a touch irritating, but livens things up in her own way and she does bounce off Lupin well.  I’ve decided not to watch this weekly – going to save the episodes up for a marathon once the season has finished – got too much on my plate as it is already!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. dyingearth permalink
    October 5, 2015 10:12 pm

    Don’t worry about One Punch Man. The first episode covers the first 4 chapters of the redrawn manga, which all of the manga readers agree are the worst of the 50 redrawn chapters. The story will properly kick off with the introduction of Genos, the cyborg guy you saw at the end of episode 1.

    • October 6, 2015 10:08 pm

      Ah well that’s good then – I really did like the first episode, so glad to hear it continues to be fun.

  2. October 6, 2015 2:03 am

    Now that’s what you call a batch of Fall Animes. I cannot help but be energized with this set. Oh yes, Comet Lucifer has potential but you know.. there are already plotholes in that one yet I can forgive that this time since this is decently animated and featured a good mecha fight.

    • October 6, 2015 10:09 pm

      I’m kinda willing to give Comet Lucifer a bit of a free pass for a few episodes because it is an original show – I do like seeing what original series try to do.

      • October 7, 2015 5:04 am

        Same here. It seems like a fresh air this season given its traditional presentation of an old trope. Kinda reminiscent of my childhood days when Mecha was the thing in my country.

  3. October 6, 2015 10:18 am

    I agree that Comet Lucifer sticks to a lot of old tropes, but compared with all the other all-new, non-sequel anime I’d seen this season, it seemed amazing! …then along came the stylish Concrete Revolutio, and all-round fantastic One-Punch Man. Slowly, this season is starting to look up!

    I know you didn’t include it in your preview, but I’d recommend giving the first episode of Osomatsu-san a look if you weren’t already planning on doing so. It’s very self-aware that it’s outdated. Probably won’t be that representative of the rest of the series, however.😛

    • October 6, 2015 10:11 pm

      Season is looking solid (and fujoshi-tastic) – didn’t really expect it to be this entertaining!

      I watched the first episode of Osomatsu-san last night after seeing it take over my Twitter feed. Brilliant fun, but I’ll not be watching any more of the show since it’s going to be a completely different ball game from next week onwards!

      • October 7, 2015 5:05 am

        Oh God. My fudanshi tendencies are slipping. Uhm.. What series in particular? *twitches

        • October 7, 2015 8:55 pm

          Well there’s K, Haikyuu, Young Black Jack, Gundam & High School Star Musical & Dance with Devils so far – season is looking pretty good for bishie shows!

  4. October 7, 2015 7:43 am

    Comet Lucifer: I was surprised that it has mechs! WHAT!? Plus it has a Eureka Seven/Xam’d: Lost Memories vibe which isn’t a bad thing for me and has a cool fantasy-ish setting😀

    Concrete Revolutio: That was a tad bit confusing! I do love the colorful world and since BONES has been experimenting with bright colorful series like Rolling Girls and previously with Show By Rock!! That said I love how Revolutio has mechs, super heroes, magical girls and all kinds of different character types it should be fun! Then again it being confusing doesn’t help.

    One-Punch Man: THANK YOU BASED MADHOUSE 10/10

    • October 7, 2015 8:57 pm

      Comet Lucifer does feel a bit like Bones-lite at the moment – glad I’m not the only one getting those vibes.

      Bones are loving brightly coloured, arty shows at the moment – not a bad thing! I really hope Concrete Revolutio settles down though – first episode was way too scatter-dash.

Leave a Reply

