Skip to content

Summer 2010 – First Impressions (Nurarihyon no Mago)

July 6, 2010

Nurarihyon no Mago is the next new show I sampled.

Nuraihyon no Mago (Grandchild of Nurarihyon)

I have a weakness for shounen anime – this series has successfully tapped into that despite my best efforts to resist (my head’s telling me ‘its DEEN! you’re bound to be disappointed!’). Still this was a very solid introductory episode and I’m quite interested in seeing where it’s all going. I like the fact that the main lead is surprisingly grounded for a shounen lead. He’s not an idiot, nor is he overpowered and hotheaded. Rather he’s a child that has firmly decided what he wants out of life and strives for a normal life (despite the fact he lives with youkai). The episode itself had a rather contrived plotline – the typical test of courage through an abandoned school building, but it was still quite fun and had enough tension to hold my attention.

The animation is attractive, and I really like the character designs (although human Rikuo reminds me of Negi from Negima). The youkai are really varied, going from cute chibi things, through tradition designs to bishounen/bishoujo. I don’t if it’s because Rikuo shares a voice actor with Watanuki, but the show vaguely put me in mind of early episodes of xxxHOLiC; especially with the traditional youkai designs and the failing about Rikuo does to prevent his friends seeing them. On the subject of voice acting – the cast is star-studded, but the script is pretty simple so there’s not a lot to work with really.

The music needs to be mentioned. It’s quite an impressive score and really adds to the atmosphere of the show. I quite liked the OP (even though it ends very suddenly) and the ED is weirdly catchy with its dancing chibi animation.

So yeah, I am weak and have been sucked into this. Story seems childish, but promising so I’ll probably stick with this to the end. Just hope Studio DEEN do a good job and this doesn’t turn into another flop (/kidding myself).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 9:04 pm

    Just saw this last night and thought the same thing the main guy does look like Negi! when in human form. Was waiting for the inuyasha effect of him being human at certain times, just hope it’s not something where omg transforms and forgets what he did.

    Also Hanyuu/Maria voice actor ;D guess she does lots for DEEN lol..

    • July 8, 2010 11:07 pm

      Aye also hoping it doesnt go that way. Demon version does seem to be pretty autonomous at the moment juding from the pre-OP scene, which is worrying.

      Yui Horie pops up everywhere! Although I’m glad she’s playing a pretty straight role this time instead of someone LOL!Quirky.

  2. July 9, 2010 1:56 am

    Yuki Onna is the only reason to watch this. Now if only she would go “Hau hau..”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.